Study on the Artificial Islands in the Central Waters

Home | Latest News | Study Overview | Strategic Positioning, Planning Objectives and Highlights | Preliminary Proposals - Reclamation Extent | Preliminary Proposals - Broad Land Use | Preliminary Proposals - Strategic Transport Infrastructure | Preliminary Proposals - Possible Financing Options | Public Engagement Report | Public Engagement Booklet | Public Engagement Activities | Infographics | Videos | Independent Expert Panels / Study Team's Professional Advisors | Press Release | Related Links | Download | Contact Us | Text Size | | | Graphic Version

Preliminary Proposals

Reclamation Extent

We preliminarily propose 1 000 ha of KYCAI which comprises three islands (namely Island A – about 380 ha, Island B – about 380 ha and Island C – about 240 ha), which forms a Y-shape channel separating the islands. In formulating the proposed “Three-island configuration”, factors including ecology, water quality, engineering feasibility, marine traffic and port operation have been fully considered.

The proposed configuration can keep the artificial islands away from hard coral communities with ecological value along the coastlines of Kau Yi Chau, Siu Kau Yi Chau, Sunshine Island and Peng Chau. The Y-shape channel will effectively cope with the impact of reclamation on water quality and ecology by maintaining sufficient water flow velocity in the waters nearby.

The design of the water channels is aligned with the prevailing wind direction to reduce the urban heat island effect. Besides, in order to enhance construction efficiency and cost effectiveness, we propose carrying out reclamation in shallower waters. The proposed reclamation extent has also minimised impacts on the existing fairways and anchorage areas.

We also plan to use the water channel as an ecological refinement measure to promote biodiversity through such as deploying artificial reefs at seabed and building eco-shoreline in the intertidal zone. The coastline design will echo the surrounding islands, increase waterfront open space, and promote water sports. It also provides diversified activity venues and optimises living space.

For the geographical location of the KYCAI, we have thoroughly considered in the design the risk of flooding and overtopping waves and will adopt a progressive adaptive approach by formulating a preliminary plan that can tackle coastal hazards, including setting a suitable site formation level for the artificial islands, designing adaptive and resilient coastal protection measures and planning a buffer zone between shoreline and development area, etc.

We are conducting an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) study for the KYCAI development. The preliminary findings show that the proposed reclamation works would not cause insurmountable impacts on ecology and fisheries. The Government will also review the system of granting the ex-gratia allowances for fishermen affected by marine works projects in Hong Kong waters.


Development Bureau | Civil Engineering and Development Department | Planning Department | ARUP | Related Links | Privacy Policy Statement | Important Notices | Sustainable Lantau Instagram | Sustainable Lantau facebook
2023 © Civil Engineering and Development Department. All rights reserved
Last Revision Date: 12-07-2024

中部水域人工岛研究

首页 | 最新消息 | 研究概览 | 策略定位、规划目标及亮点 | 初步建议 - 填海范围 | 初步建议 - 概括土地用途 | 初步建议 - 策略性运输基建 | 初步建议 - 可能融资选项 | 公众参与报告 | 公众参与小册子| 公众参与活动 | 一图尽览 | 传片 | 独立专家小组/研究团队专家顾问 | 新闻稿 | 相关连结 | 下载资料 | 联络我们 | 文字大小 | | EN | 图文版

初步建议

填海范围

我们初步建议 1 000 公顷的交椅洲人工岛由三个岛屿组成(即 A 岛约 380 公顷、B 岛约 380 公顷和 C 岛约 240 公顷),并以一「Y 形」水道分隔各岛。拟议的「三岛设计」充分考虑生态、水质、工程可行性、海上交通及港口运作等因素。

拟议人工岛的布局能避开于交椅洲、小交椅洲、周公岛及坪洲沿岸具生态价值的石珊瑚群落,而当中的「Y 形」水道能保持邻近水域的水流适度流动,有效应对填海对水质和生态造成的影响。

水道的设计更配合盛行风向,有助减低城市热岛效应。此外,为提升施工效率及成本效益,我们建议于较浅水的水域填海,拟议填海范围亦尽量减低对现有航道和锚区的影响。

我们亦计划利用该水道配合生态优化措施,包括在海床敷设人工鱼礁和在潮间带建造生态海岸线,以促进生物多样性。海岸线的设计会与附近岛屿呼应,并增加海滨休憩空间及便利进行水上活动,提供多元活动场地,优化生活空间。

就交椅洲人工岛的地理位置,我们已在设计中充分考虑极端天气及气候变化带来水浸及越堤浪的风险,并采取循序渐进的策略,为人工岛制订一套能应对沿岸灾害的初步计划,包括为人工岛设定合适的土地平整水平、设计具适应力和抗御力的海岸防护设施、规划海岸线与发展用地之间的缓冲区等。

我们现正就交椅洲人工岛发展进行环境影响评估研究。初步结果显示,拟议填海工程在生态和渔业方面没有不可克服的问题。政府亦会检视向受本港水域海事工程影响的渔民发放特惠津贴的机制。


发展局 | 土木工程拓展署 | 规划署 | ARUP | 相关连结 | 私隐政策声明 | 重要告示 | 可持续大屿 Instagram | 可持续大屿 facebook
版权所有 © 2023 土木工程拓展署
修订日期:2024年7月12日