Study on the Artificial Islands in the Central Waters

Home | Latest News | Study Overview | Strategic Positioning, Planning Objectives and Highlights | Preliminary Proposals - Reclamation Extent | Preliminary Proposals - Broad Land Use | Preliminary Proposals - Strategic Transport Infrastructure | Preliminary Proposals - Possible Financing Options | Public Engagement Report | Public Engagement Booklet | Public Engagement Activities | Infographics | Videos | Independent Expert Panels / Study Team's Professional Advisors | Press Release | Related Links | Download | Contact Us | Text Size | | | Graphic Version

Study Overview

Study Background

According to the Conceptual Spatial Framework under the final recommendations of “Hong Kong 2030+: Towards a Planning Vision and Strategy Transcending 2030” (Hong Kong 2030+) promulgated in 2021, the development of the Kau Yi Chau Artificial Islands (KYCAI), which is at a strategic position within the expanded Harbour Metropolis, can provide about 1 000 hectares (ha) of land for meeting part of the medium to long-term land requirement of Hong Kong.

The 2022 Policy Address stated that the KYCAI will expand the scope and capacity of Hong Kong’s development and enhance Hong Kong’s competitiveness as a financial, commercial and trade centre. It is also brought up in the 2023 Policy Address that KYCAI will provide 1 000 hectares of land, creating a new central district with liveable, smart, green and resilient development strategies. The KYCAI will also connect the Hong Kong Island, Lantau Island, the airport, New Territories West and even Qianhai of Shenzhen.

The Study on the Artificial Islands in the Central Waters commissioned by the Civil Engineering and Development Department and the Planning Department in June 2021 mainly comprises a planning and engineering study on the KYCAI and a technical feasibility study on strategic road and rail connecting the artificial islands.

Way Forward

We aim to commence the statutory process of environmental impact assessment for reclamation within 2024 and gradually proceed with detailed design for the KYCAI. The "Committee on the Financing of Major Development Projects" led by the Financial Secretary will continue to explore specific financial arrangements for overall major land supply and transport infrastructure projects. Based on the progress of these studies and assessments, we will formulate specific implementation strategies for the KYCAI, prepare a budget and pragmatic project implementation programme for project investment, allocation of manpower and material resources. We strive to start the reclamation project within the current term of government.

Planning Together

To realise community participation in planning the core area of a new generation, we have set up a platform with six professional institutes for in-depth discussions on the major planning concepts and certain important planning issues, with a view to putting forward creative suggestions for the artificial islands.


Development Bureau | Civil Engineering and Development Department | Planning Department | ARUP | Related Links | Privacy Policy Statement | Important Notices | Sustainable Lantau Instagram | Sustainable Lantau facebook
2023 © Civil Engineering and Development Department. All rights reserved
Last Revision Date: 31-03-2024

中部水域人工岛研究

首页 | 最新消息 | 研究概览 | 策略定位、规划目标及亮点 | 初步建议 - 填海范围 | 初步建议 - 概括土地用途 | 初步建议 - 策略性运输基建 | 初步建议 - 可能融资选项 | 公众参与报告 | 公众参与小册子| 公众参与活动 | 一图尽览 | 传片 | 独立专家小组/研究团队专家顾问 | 新闻稿 | 相关连结 | 下载资料 | 联络我们 | 文字大小 | | EN | 图文版

研究概览

研究背景

根据2021 年公布《香港2030+:跨越2030 年的规划远景与策略》(《香港2030+》)最终建议的概念性空间框架,发展位处维港都会区延伸部分策略性位置的交椅 洲人工岛,可提供约1 000 公顷土地,应对香港中长期的部分用地需求。

2022 年《施政报告》指出交椅洲人工岛将为香港发展扩容扩量,提升香港作为金融、商业和贸易中心的竞争力。 而2023 年《施政报告》亦提出交椅洲人工岛将提供1 000公顷土地,以宜居、智慧、环保及具抗御力作为发展策略,打造新一代核心区域,连通港岛、大屿山、机场、新界西 以至深圳前海。

土木工程拓展署和规划署于2021年6月开展中部水域人工岛研究,主要包括为交椅洲人工岛进行规划及工程研究,以及就连接人工岛的策略性道路和铁路进行技术可行性 研究。

未来路向

我们目标在2024年内为填海工程启动法定环评程序及陆续就交椅洲人工岛展开详细工程设计。 财政司司长带领的「大型发展项目融资委员会」会继续为整体大型土地和运输基建项目探讨具体财务安排。 我们会因应这些研究和评估的进展,为人工岛制定具体的落实策略,就工程的投资和人力物力配置做好预算及务实的工程时间表,争取今届政府任期内启动填海工程。

共同规划

为体现民间参与新一代的核心区域的规划,我们已与六大专业学会组成平台就各个主要规划概念,以及个别重要规划议题,作深入讨论,集思广益,为人工岛提出更具创意的 设计建议。


发展局 | 土木工程拓展署 | 规划署 | ARUP | 相关连结 | 私隐政策声明 | 重要告示 | 可持续大屿 Instagram | 可持续大屿 facebook
版权所有 © 2023 土木工程拓展署
修订日期:2024年7月12日